How to Configure D-Link (DES-3200 Series) Switch?

DES-3200 series Metro Ethernet ETTx is a member of the D-Link Layer 2 managed switch family designed for FTTx and corporate markets.
Let’s take a look at the main features of this switch and how to set the initial settings.

Flow Control for Safe Transfer

802.3x flow control reduces the number of packets in each port to the lowest level when the port’s buffer is full. This feature provides you with a more reliable connection for all connected devices.

Traffic and Bandwidth Control

Network efficiency is at the maximum level thanks to the bandwidth control feature.

Conservation of energy

It saves electricity in various ways. The active port or port connected to the computer is automatically selected by the switch, inactive ports are closed.

D-Link switch can reach with default IP address: 10.90.90.90.
The username and password is admin.

The main menu of our switch is like the picture below.

This allows us to access the switch settings from the main shortcuts in the main menu.

D-Link_main_page
D-Link_main_page

D-Link switch If we want to change the IP address, we can change it as shown in the menu below.

D_Link_Ip_Address_Configuration
D_Link_Ip_Address_Configuration

D-Link switch If we want to change the username and password or add a user, we can also change it as shown in the menu below.

D_Link_User_Configuration
D_Link_User_Configuration

Now, the last thing to do is to adjust the VLAN settings. This switch ports 17 and 18 are 1Gbps, other ports have 100 Mbps. Therefore, ports 17 and 18 are generally set to bridge mode. While setting the VLAN, these ports are switched to trunk mode for VLAN. When creating the Vlan, we need to pay attention to this switch model, when creating the VLAN for which port, we first select that port as Tagged or untagged, then enter the VLAN VID and name and say apply.

You can check it from the picture below.

D_Link_Vlan_Configrasyon
D_Link_Vlan_Configrasyon

We need to save the last settings we made in order not to be deleted. We need to save from the menu here.

D_Link_Save_All
D_Link_Save_All

Sometimes we need to save, maybe it’s due to a software error, it doesn’t save what we do. For this, let’s reboot the device from the tools section and it is said whether the settings you have made to us are saved, if we start it again by saying yes, the settings are saved.

I hope it was a useful article